dreamstimefree_259873

Photo http://www.dreamstime.com/andreklopper_info

I just returned from a memorial service for a very dear woman. Not to be sullen and sad, her husband (my former) read a four page list, dated 2005, of things to do while she was on a business trip. She was noted for her organizational command and lack of brevity. We laughed at the assigned tasks, the minutia, and the veiled hints at areas for closer examination (the mound of mail left on the office desk may include bills). A quick witted woman with an expansive sense of humor, she found a reason to laugh with the human condition (not at it).

And, yesterday, I discovered her prolific presence in my life by her digital footprints.

She will no longer share her recipes and our daughter’s wedding plan PINS on Pinterest. A foodie, she had an amazing awareness of leading edge culinary delights. Tasteful, she had a deep sense of tradition with enough oddities to create a style of her own.

She will no longer work at her job although she remains in my LinkedIn contacts list. Her long list of skills and accomplishments seem so fresh and valuable. A headhunters’ dream.

She will no longer post photos of family, dogs, cats, camping, and other curiosities on her Facebook page. The light banter has ceased. Nothing new to like. The timestamps are all in the past collecting digital dust.

Yet, these digital footprints remind me of her in a kind and gentle way. As if she was still here with us. Vibrant.

I wonder if someday she will be digitally erased. I hope not. I like revisiting her thoughts, ideas and heroic humor. I mentally walk with her on our electronic path, leaving our digital footprints for others to cherish.

Remembering you, Beth.

