6700482-Portland_Airport_at_Sunset_Tower_Parking_Lots_Portland(Portland Airport at Sunset)

Last night I was rushing from work to get to the local grocery store and then to a cookout. Bam. Bam. Bam. Until I saw one of the most beautiful sunsets stretching over the parking lot. The sky was rosy pink with bits of orange. Just spectacular.

While looking at the sky, I noticed how pleasant the air smelled. I heard the dull drone of traffic from behind a stand of trees. And, because it was an open mall, music was broadcast for the shoppers. I don’t remember the tune.

And then it hit me …

This is like a movie where the main character has an epiphany while the world chugs along uncaring. There was a deep visual quality of the sunset over all the parked cars. And music to help frame the scene.

Here I was in my own movie except it is my life.

It’s like traveling to a foreign land and only looking through the lens of a camera at all the wondrous sights. Taking videos  so you’ll remember how great this moment was without actually experiencing it.

Later when you return to your home, you’ll share your moments. Review them. Savor where you have been. Years later, maybe forget where it was taken.

But were you really there? Has the moment etched into your being on a conscious level or were you just on autopilot saving your “conscious moments” for the really important stuff?

Are you living your life or acting in it?

